Friendships

Whilst flicking through my Grazia mag the other day I seen a statistic which said something along the lines of ‘you have the most friends when you are 26 years old’.

This got me think of my life and my friends -and I think I have to agree when I was 26 I had friends galore, work friends, old work friends, going out friends, University friends, school friends.. I was out all the time with them drinking, eating having a great time. I made friends quite easily. For me life was easy and fun.

Fast forward into my 30’s and I think I could count the number of good friends on one hand. Life is so different now, I don’t work full time anymore, I don’t live close to friends anymore I simply do not have much time. I guess everyone is the same. I think now if you want to be good friends with someone you have to make real effort with them, be there for the rough times as well as the good times, put up with the constant child interruptions which can make it impossible to have a proper conversation.

I suppose it makes me sad that some of those close friends in my 20’s were friends of the time rather than friends for life. I didn’t fall out with these friends we simply drifted, changed our lives changed.

I also find that I struggle to make friends so easy now, I suppose its not as easy when you haven’t got a vodka in you hand and your not dancing on a table. As much as I hate to admit it I am not as sparkly and exciting as I was in my twenties. Motherhood is hard and tiring and sometimes not that much fun (Can I really say that?!)

It does make me feel sad sometimes and even a bit lonely – but I know If I had to choose between a handful of  good close friends or a roomful of average friends I know what I would choose every time. Quality not quantity.

x

Leave a Reply

